The Seven Primary Chakras

The Seven Primary Chakras

Working with the chakras for awareness and healing

The Sanskrit word chakra can be translated to mean a wheel or a spinning disc. The seven primary chakras are whirling currents of energy that, while not actually physical, reside within and around the body, flowing upward from the base of the spine to the crown. 

The nature of the chakras is that by just starting to learn about them initiates an energetic journey towards greater awareness and healing of mind, body and spirit. It is the dance of a lifetime, so why not start now?  

To begin to work with the chakras visualize each in its corresponding color. You may want the chakra’s gemstone in your hand or lap while you meditate or focus on the place the chakra is located in your body. Keep the aspects of the chakra you’re working with in mind while you breathe. Allow yourself to open to each as a disc or wheel and you may start to feel it spinning or vibrating. Remember, this is a practice, not an event. 

The Seven Primary Chakras
The Seven Primary Chakras
  • The first chakra, located at the base of the spine, is red. It is called Muladhara in Sanskrit. The first chakra represents security, feeling grounded, and the material world.  Gemstones can be ruby, garnet or any red stone that feels right.
  • The second chakra, located in the lower abdomen is orange. It is called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. The second chakra relates to personal power, sexuality and physical desires, and work. Gemstones can be coral, carnelian or any orange stone that feels right. . 
  • The third chakra, located at the navel is yellow. It is called Manipura in Sanskrit. The third chakra represents to the self, ego and personality, and self-esteem. Gemstones can be amber, yellow topaz, yellow tourmaline, citrine or any yellow stone that feels right. 
  • The fourth chakra is located at the heart center and can be seen as the bridge between the first three chakras (below) and the next three chakras (above).  Its color is vibrant green. It is called Anahata in Sanskrit. The fourth chakra’s focus is on love, forgiveness and compassion. Gemstones can be Emerald, tourmaline, green calcite, jade or any green stone that feels right.
  • The fifth chakra, located at the throat is blue. It is called Vishuddha in Sanskrit. The fifth chakra represents will, self-expression and communication.  Gemstones can be turquoise, blue topaz or sapphire, lapis or any blue stone that feels right.
  • The sixth chakra, located at the forehead or ‘third eye’ relates to intuition, insight and wisdom. It is called Anja in Sanskrit. Gemstones can be lapis, purple fluorite, black obsidian or any indigo stone that feels right
  • The seventh chakra, located at the crown of the head, is purple. It is called Sahasrara in Sanskrit. The seventh chakra represents oneness, spirituality, transcendence and universal love. Gemstones can be amethyst, diamond, selenite, or any purple or pure white light stone that feels right. 


Your learning and work with primary seven chakras has just begun. The resources mentioned below might help you in your continued study.

7th - Crown Chakra

Chakra Stone Wand


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *